Now Reading
infinix hot S x521 review

Infinix Hot S x521 Review: Clear and Unbiased Opinions You Can Trust.

infinix hot s review

There is a wise saying that goes: Competition is not only the basis of protection to the consumer but is the incentive to progress. And that proved to be true recently as Infinix Mobility launched the HotS, their latest addition to the “Hot” series. Keep in mind that Tecno Mobile has recently launched the Camon C9 amidst fanfare, therefore, it was always going to be a tough act to follow by Infinix Mobile. However, the competition between both OEMs has continued to bring about progress to the smartphone market in Nigeria and this was no exception. I was not very sure about Infinix ability to give us a device that would stand shoulder to shoulder with the Camon C9, but it seems they have gone ahead to prove doubters (myself inclusive) wrong. Without further ado, let us look at the specifications that the phone comes with.



GSM: GSM 900 / 1800
3G: HSDPA 850 / 900 / 2100
4G: FDD-LTE 1 / 3(1800) / 7(2600) / 8 / 20(800); TDD-LTE:B38 / B40
SIM Type: Dual Micro SIM
OS: Android 6 Marshmallow + XOS

Dimensions: 152 x 74 x 8.1 mm

Weight: 140 g
Display: 5.2 inches, 1280 x 720 pixels (282 PPI), IPS display
Sensors: Fingerprint Scanner, Accelerometer, Proximity
Build: Full Aluminium Body
Colours: Champagne Gold. Med Blue. Glossy Silver. Berlin Gray. Rose Gold
Processor Type: Octa-Core 1.3 GHz
Processor Name: Mediatek MT6753
Graphics Processor: Mali-T720 MP3 450MHz
RAM: 2 GB / 3 GB
Internal Storage: 16 GB / 32 GB
External Storage: MicroSD card up to 128 GB (uses 2nd SIM slot)
Rear: 13-megapixel autofocus camera with dual LED flash
Video recording: Yes
Front-facing: 8-megapixel camera with Flash light
Music Support: mp3, aac, aac+, eaac+, amr
Loudspeaker: Mono
Video Support: mpeg4, h.263, h.264
FM Radio: Yes
Bluetooth: v4.0
WiFi: Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, Wi-Fi Direct, hotspot
GPS: Yes
USB: microUSB v2.0; OTG
Charging: Fast Charge
Battery: 3,000 mAh
Announcement: July 2016
Availability: July 27th, 2016
  • The specifications look needs if you ask me, but we have a ton of OEMs promising a million things and delivering on none. And that is where we at Gadgets Review NG come in, to give you in-depth and unbiased reviews of this products before you spend money on it. So how did the Hot S fare when we laid our hands on it?
  • From the build itself, it looked much more matured than their previous releases and my colleague agreed with me in a way when he argued that this is the first Infinix Mobile phone that he would gladly spend money on. Remember that their last offering in the Hot series; the Hot 3 had a plastic build that was not welcomed by a number of people, Infinix Mobile responded with a metallic build this time and it looks beautiful. The Camera quality also looks much better (something you actually expect when an OEM uses 13 Mega-pixels right?) the Hot S also comes with an improved selfie camera that is an 8 megapixel camera for our better selfie experience. And it is worthy of mention that the selfie camera can shoot a whole 120 degrees.
  • The competition seems to be yielding good benefits again as we see the Hot S comes with a fingerprint scanner (did somebody say a response to Tecno’s Iris Scanner?) well when we tried the fingerprint scanner, it looked like a very viable security feature; easy to set up and easy to use.
  • I had a great time playing with the “Magic Movie” feature. It looks like something that would be great for social media; record a video, use fun pre-set edit in seconds and upload to social media. Quite promising.
  • The XOS upgraded version of XUI sees the phone coming with a package known as the XOS family; when launched, you would see it gives you the options of opening an Xaccount, giving feedback, launching Xmanager, accessing Xcloud, Xweather, Xguide, Xhide and reading a pre-installed user guide. We are not sure how this would pan out as users might be reluctant to open a new account with Infinix Mobile. However, we think it is refreshing that OEMS are working on their own OS to complement Google’s Android.
  • The screen was also quite responsive to touches, and its display looks very beautiful; it seems to live up to its hype as a full high definition screen.  More so, the 5”2 screen makes it comfortable for you watch your videos and pictures.
  • The sound quality is quite okay. It doesn’t sound harsh to the ears. We tested the sound of the Hot S with the phone only and with its accompanying earphone, and they both sounded cool. The sound did not hurt my ears like some phones have done (don’t ask me which).
  • The octa-core makes sure that the processing unit functions optimally. Accompanied with 2GB of RAM, we did not expect anything less from the phone. It seems to me (for now) that the multi-tasking is fine and fluid too. The phone also comes with a 16GB internal memory capacity which is okay, considering the fact that you can use an external memory card, and what more? The phone supports the use of an OTG (USB on the go).
  • The only issue I have with the Hot S is probably the battery capacity (3000 mAh). I feel like Infinix need to better their battery capacity for them to have a stronger hold on the market. But then again, it is excusable when you see that most middle-end phones released this year have stuck to that capacity. Besides, it has fast charging capacity to make up for that.
  • Overall the Infinix Hot S looks like a phone that would do very well in the market. Personally. I would buy it, and if the testimonies I hear about Infinix’s durability is anything to go by, I might be using it for a very long time to come.

You can watch our video review below:




What's your reaction?
Love It
Hate It
About The Author
Saviour Adugba
Adugba Saviour is a writer for Gadgets Review Nigeria. He is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin in Edo state, Nigeria. His hobbies are making music and listening to music. He hopes to win either the Oscars or the grammy someday..or both,
  • Courtney Shalom Odei
    August 11, 2016 at 1:50 pm

    This is lovely
    The features are superb. #InfinixHotS is so unique and nice one Infinix
    Thanks GadgetsReviewNG. Simply the best #Gadgetsreview

  • Sunday Esther
    August 11, 2016 at 1:58 pm

    Nice one. Infinix Hot S with unique spec. Thank you Gadgets Review for keeping us informed #GadgetsReview

  • August 11, 2016 at 2:20 pm

    Wow. Wat a nice smartphone to have >

  • ogbodo ifeanyi
    August 11, 2016 at 2:56 pm

    There is too much competition in this two
    mobile brand Tecno and infinix and that’s
    makes them to be bring out the best of
    them. Letz go to the little useful spec of
    their latest flagship

    INFINIX hot S———-Tecno C9
    *RAM: 2 GB / 3 GB === 2GB Ram
    *Android 6 === Android 6.0 Marshmallow Marshmallow +XOS

    * 3000mAh ==== 3000mAh
    *5.2 screen ===5.5-inch Touch Display both mobile is producing hand in hand update,but i must tell you,with while reading the spec of both,i came to understand that infinix exclude the irish scanner,with my own understanding i may say if you lock it with irish and you and to unlook it at night were the camera can not dectect your face how will it see that is why infinix dump that one aside.with all the spec seen they Device is ogbonge in town but what dhot the down is this battery capacity i us to say,even it is possible let infinix come up with 10.000Mah battery is not a bad thing.itel 1556 have 5000mah why is infinix going back we need forward ever,well kudos to infinix mobike they came to stay and will continue being ontop.

  • Shola Araoye
    August 11, 2016 at 3:36 pm

    Infinix Hot S features are awesome and amazing. The 3000mAh battery capacity is still okay compare to Samsung Galaxy S4 battery. Kudoz to Infinix company.

  • August 11, 2016 at 5:38 pm

    1. I observed that two people shot the video
    2. I observed that no battery was put into the phone before before it was turned on that means it’s an unremovable battery
    3. I observed that the first song played was I.e Beaneath you beautiful was not the original song but it was a cover by somebody who I don’t know
    4.I also observed that there was a laptop which was being used by the Admin and they were on the Gadget Review Facebook Page
    5. I also observed that the phone was locked with a pattern that means the phone has been unboxed by the admin before

  • August 11, 2016 at 5:40 pm

    1. I observed that two people shot the video
    2. I observed that no battery was put into the phone before before it was turned on that means it’s an unremovable battery
    3. I observed that the first song played was I.e Beaneath you beautiful was not the original song but it was a cover by somebody who I don’t know
    4.I also observed that there was a laptop which was being used by the Admin and they were on the Gadget Review Facebook Page
    5. I also observed that the phone was locked with a pattern that means the phone has been unboxed by the admin before
    #GadgetsReviewNg #InfinixHotS

  • Courtney Shalom Odei
    August 11, 2016 at 5:44 pm

    Five (5) Significant things I observed are
    1. It has a Finger print Scanner
    2. It has 3.5mm earphone jack
    3. The USB port supports USB 2.0 Devices
    4. The Hot S is a 5″2 Full High Definition Screen Phone.
    5. The dimension is 152x74x8.1mm and it weighs 140g
    #GadgetsreviewNG #InfinixHOTS

  • Courtney Shalom Odei
    August 11, 2016 at 7:10 pm

    Five (5) Significant things I observed are:
    1. I observed that the person’s Finger didn’t touch the Camera, Flash and Sensor while showing the Fingerprint Scanner.
    2. I observed that the person switched on the phone which simply means the phone has an Inbuilt battery.
    3. I observed that the background music played wasn’t the original version of the song “Beneath your beautiful” by Labrinth.
    4. I observed that the person was so sensitive while operating the phone because the screen is quite responsive.
    5. I observed that the person took a picture with the low light which was super clear. (Picture taken was the GadgetsReviewNG page)
    #GadgetsreviewNG #InfinixHotS.

  • Emmanuel Ikoghe
    August 11, 2016 at 9:44 pm

    I observed the following:
    1. It has curved edges
    2. Power and Volume key are on the same side (right)
    3. Dual speakers
    4. Uses XOS chameleon as it’s user interface (UI)
    5. Dual flash light close to the camera at the back.
    #GadgetsreviewNG #InfinixHotS

  • ogbodo ifeanyi
    August 12, 2016 at 1:52 am

    My observations on the infinix hot S unboxing video
    1= I observed that when you open the box first section,the first thing you see is the Infinix Hot S smart device.
    2=when you pick it up,at the back of the infinix hot S there is a product waterproof that covered the back,when removed,you will observe the finger print scanner down next to the back camera.
    3=I observed that at the right side of the hot S,you will see the power button next to the volume button.
    4=I observed that the earphone jack is meassured 3.5mm
    5=I observed that another waterproof covered the front with some menus drawn on it,when you removed it the screen is black
    6=when you boot it,it shows Infinix andriod and XOS in bold on the screen which is it’s operating system,
    7=I observed that when you wipe the screen upwards,it reveals the pattern lock client.
    8=i also observed that when you unlock the device it shows Hot S in bold.

  • Araoye Gbadebo
    August 12, 2016 at 9:18 am

    You said Hot S is an XOS based android 6.0, it has 3.5mm earphone, the sim tray can house two Nano sims, the USB port support USB 2.0 device, you talked about how quick the screen response, that Hot S is made by Aluminium body and it weighs 140g which is not bad at all, and you can also time the video camera, depend on how you want it. All this features really suit me a lot. Thanks once again Gadgets review, I really appreciate you guys. #GadgetsreviewNG #InfinixHotS

  • Shola Araoye
    August 12, 2016 at 9:36 am

    1. I observe that the Infinix Hot S Phone has a SIM tray which makes it to house two Nano SIMS.

    2. I observe that the Infinix Hot S Phone uses the XOS based on ANDROID 6.0. The XOS is Infinix Mobile’s Operating System and the HOT S uses the XOS chameleon. The XOS means it comes with its attendant X applications.

    3. I observe that the Infinix Hot S Phone Screen is quite responsive unlike some clumsy ones.

    4. I observe that the Infinix Hot S Phone has a FULL ALUMINIUM BODY that makes it Fancy.

    5. I observe that the Infinix Hot S Phone has a “MAGIC MOVIE APP” that is located on the home page with a big “M” beside a camera symbol imposed on a red background.

    #GadgetsReviewNg #InfinixHotS

    August 12, 2016 at 11:52 am

    The Infinix Hot S smartphone is literally my DREAM phone now, has all the specs i want in a smartphone. It is the first Infinix Smartphone to have dual LED Flashlight alongside a 8 Megapixels front camera…
    I mean c’mon you know what Dual LED flashlight does to pictures.

    It is also the first Infinix Device to run on Android 6.0 Marshmallow. if i’m not mistaking. since others previous Infinix models are or not enabled for OTA update.

    The body is made of full metal with beautiful curves around the phone edges to give you that premium good feel.
    3GB RAM to executes my favourites apps as fast as possible.
    It also has a Fingerprint Scanner located just below the 13.0MP camera.
    Yess!!! I need to protect my phone via Fingerprint sensor!!!!!

  • Omarionlove
    August 13, 2016 at 12:49 pm

    This device is just the Best From Infinix Mobile its a Great one #InfinizHOTS #Gadgetsreviewng

  • ogbodo ifeanyi
    August 13, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    1=I observed that infinix is branded round the hot S pack
    2=I observed that when the reviewer removed the hotS from the pack,after detaching the sachet covering the back the first thing he point at was the finger print scanner,then flash before the camera.
    3=I observed that when he press the power button,it shows infinix andriod then he point at the front camera before the device wrote XOS which appears in Bold.
    4=I also obserced that when he wiped the screen up,it shows pattern lock security.
    5=I observed that the screen touch is very responsive which makes it fast in operate
    6=I also observed that the reviewer points at the body dimension which he measured it 152 x 74 x 8.1 mm ,Weight 140g
    7=I observed that the picture the reviewer use the hots camera to take at night is not bad atall.
    8=I observed that the infinix hot s have a pre-installed app called magic movie which is located at the homepage in a big M symboll that allows you to pre-order movie,make new movies upto 15 seconds and also you can even add slide of your choice to the movie you made
    9=The reviewer said that the whole body is made by aluminium which makes it fancy and looks beautiful.
    10=I observed that at the end of the review,the reviewer gave infinix kudos hand that they can sign this one.
    At the end our verdict gadgetd review pop out.

  • Ahiwe Philip Tochukwu
    August 13, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    Wow! Such a nice phone at a reasonable price.

  • Musa Muhammed Nasirudeen
    August 16, 2016 at 9:49 am

    Wow! Superb! Super Great Awesome device! I love Infinix HotS

  • Musa Muhammed Nasirudeen
    August 16, 2016 at 9:57 am

    Wow! Superb! Super Awesome Device! Great Gadget Infinix Got! Infinix Hot S is the Best! I love this Gadget! Much Respect to Infinix for the Awesome Specifications

  • Ojieh Emmanuel
    August 16, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    This is by far the best phone infinix has produced, with a whopping 16gb internal memory accompanied with a 2GB for easy multi tasking… Plus the 8gb front camera for my selfie people, i would also lay emphasis on the finger print scanner, they did a great job with that one, well, its good if i must say, really good for the competition

  • Uchechi Blessing
    August 17, 2016 at 2:25 pm

    appearance infinix Hot S is real amazing . I love the fact that it had a deal LED flash and also unique sensor and that it charges fast and also it has an external memory of 128GB with 4G connectivity. is that amazing!

  • Uchechi Blessing
    August 17, 2016 at 2:28 pm

    appearance infinix Hot S is real amazing . I love the fact that it had a daul LED flash camera ,unique sensor , charges fast, and also it has an external memory of 128GB with 4G connectivity. is that amazing!

  • Yanate beredugo
    August 17, 2016 at 3:23 pm

    I really like the specification of the phone. It’s awesome. I’m a selfie lover. And over the years. I’ve been using infinix products.

  • tunde wahab
    August 18, 2016 at 11:53 am

    Looking at my own five observation

    i. It comes with 3.5mm earphone Jack
    ii. the battery is a sealed type, which means its a non-removeable one.
    iii. the uSB port supports USB 2.0 Devices.
    iv. The Hot S comes with two nano sim trays
    v. the volume control keys and power on keys are on the same sides of it #GadgetsreviewNG #InfinixHOTS

  • Olasupo yusuf olalekan
    August 19, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    When it comes to best phone in Nigeria. Infinix is a superb brand. Their powerful infinix Hot S is wow! My best feature on this phone is the impressive fingerprint sensor.

    You can make use of it to unlock your phone it’s a powerful security

  • Edidiong
    August 21, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    I really love this phone and will love to have one.i like the design the camera…i love everything about it

  • Jes'ever Darey
    August 22, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    I love the #InfinixHotS features… they are so amazing. Thanks to #Gadgetsreview.

  • moses jerome
    August 24, 2016 at 11:21 pm

    This phone is a bomb,personally I think this phone is a new definition of technology..infinix you rock!

Leave a Response