Reviews
Now Reading
ITEL IT1516 PLUS REVIEW, SPECIFICATIONS, PRICE AND WHERE TO BUY
20

ITEL IT1516 PLUS REVIEW
THE BUILD

ITEL IT1516 PLUS REVIEW
This phone is a 5.0 inches screen phone that has the build of something between a premium phone and a mid-range phone. What I actually mean, is that it isn’t a phone you quickly hide in your pocket when your friend who uses a high range device is approaching you. Itel has not lied about this phone; they have not pretended as if they are making a high range device here, on the contrary, when to I spoke to Oke Umurhohwo recently, he reiterated that the company is committed to making affordability it’s keyword. Be that as it may, the phone can still boast a certain elegance of it’s own. The “poise” of the design sits quite comfortably with me; with a metal body exterior and a black lining at the sides, the phone elicits a certain dark, technological lust that I want to satisfy every time I hold it in my hands. The camera is situated at the top left of the phone when you view it from the back and right next to the camera is it’s LED flashlight that is left in charge of brightening things up when it gets really dark. If you wander down lazily with your eye, you will find the speakers hidden conspicuously on the bottom left side. At the risk of sounding like an Itel advert personnel, I would still go ahead and say that I am quite chuffed at how well built this phone actually is. The control keys are on the right-hand side (power button, volume up and down). I think the buttons are too noticeable but again their responsiveness is top notch. Cases have been seen of “less-noticeable” buttons that will give you blisters from trying to get them to respond. The Front camera on it’s own is separated from the front flash by the mouthpiece that stands between them thereby giving an aura of “distance is just a word”. Moving away from the lame joke I just attempted there, I would rate this phone about 4.0 out of a possible 5 for the build
THE CAMERA

ITEL IT1516 PLUS REVIEW
The phone has a 5MP rear camera and a 2MP front shooter. I think this is one of the weak points of the phone. But then, the picture quality does not look too bad. It is also refreshing to see that the front slash actually works! I bought a certain phone that promised front flash only to discover that the pictures I took with the front flash on are worse than the pictures I took without light. That said, I think Itel should look into making better camera speced phones. How this camera is decent if, like me, you don’t mind a picture that looks closer to reality than a cartoon character.
THE BATTERY

ITEL IT1516 PLUS REVIEW
I could write a poem about this battery. To be candid this battery is poetry measured in mAh to me. Is it the best battery I have ever used? Maybe not. So why am I gushing about it? Because I tested it with Itel’s reverse charge technology and the battery blew my mind away. I plugged my phone that was low to the and used it all through Sunday service and the battery charged considerably! I know I am stating something that is already obvious, but the battery and the OTG charge remain the strongest arguments that the It1516 is bringing the table. It is a relief for people that live in areas with low power supply. It is a relief for Nigerians to have this kind of phone. What use is a highly specced phone that is off? I bet you will prefer a low spec phone that is always on. Well, Itel has come to the rescue; providing a smartphone that can stay on as long as our “small phones”.

HARDWARE AND SOFTWARE
The itel 1516 Plus runs Android 5.1 (Lollipop) on a 1.2GHz quad-core processor. It comes with 8GB built-in storage with 1GB of RAM. If you need more storage capacity, the Itel 1516 Plus support microSD memory card (up to 32GB).

THE SPECIFICATIONS
DEVICE NAME
iTel 1516 (it1516) Plus

OS
Android 5.1, Lollipop

PROCESSOR
Chipset
MT6572
Type
MediaTek 6572
Frequency
1.2 GHz Dual core
GPU
GENERAL
Dimensions
145.5 x 72.78 x 9.4 mm
Weight
140g
Colour
White, Black, Gold
Casing
Plastic
SIM
Dual
SIM type
Micro
Availability
2016

DISPLAY
Size
5.0 inches
Type
IPS Capacitive Touchscreen
Resolution
480 x 854 pixels
Pixel density
Colour
16 Million
Multi-touch
Yes
Protection
N/A

MEMORY
RAM
1GB
ROM (Internal)
8GB
External Memory
Micro-SD, expandable by 32GB

CAMERA
Back/Rear
5.0MP
Back Camera Feature
Pictures, Videos
Flash Support
Yes, LED
Auto-Focus
Yes
Video Recording
Yes
Front Camera
2.0 MP

BATTERY
Capacity
5000mah li-Ion
Stand-by
250hrs
Talk time
8hrs

NETWORK
2G Bands
GSM 850/900/1800/1900
3G Bands
WCDMA 850/900/1900/2100
4G Bands
No
WIFI
802.11 b/g/n, Wi-Fi hotspot, Wi-Fi Direct

CONNECTIVITY
Bluetooth
Yes, V3.0
GPS
A-GPS
NFC
No
USB
Micro-USB v2.0

SOUND/AUDIO
Alert types
Ringtones, Vibration
Loudspeaker
Yes
Earphone
3.5mm

MULTIMEDIA
Audio player
MP3, MIDI, AMR, WAV, AAC
Video player
MP4, 3GP, H.263/H.264
Ringtone
MP3

FEATURES
Sensors
Accelerometer, Proximity, Light
Fingerprint
N/A
Messaging
SMS, MMS, E-mail, Internet Messaging
Browser
HTML 5
GPS
Yes
Java
No
Radio
Yes
Flash
No

THE VERDICT
The Itel1516 is a good phone considering the kind of specifications it packs at the price level of 25,000 naira. This is so because a lot of OEMs will give you this kind of specifications at a much higher price level. The high points of this phone include the OTG reverse charge and the battery capacity. The low at face level is the camera capacity but this can be forgiven if one considers the relative quality of the images the camera produced.

FREEBIES

itel it1516 review

The phone comes with a free OTG adapter and a free phone casing. More so, the phone has a year warranty with all software problems to be handled by Carlcare.

You can buy the phone on Konga HERE


Comments

comments

What's your reaction?
Love It
0%
Interested
0%
Meh...
0%
What?
0%
Hate It
0%
Sad
0%
About The Author
Saviour Adugba
Adugba Saviour is a writer for Gadgets Review Nigeria. He is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin in Edo state, Nigeria. His hobbies are making music and listening to music. He hopes to win either the Oscars or the grammy someday..or both,
20 Comments
  • Bright Meek Phronesis Odei
    November 14, 2016 at 11:38 am

    ITEL IT1516 PLUS REVIEW, SPECIFICATION, PRICE AND WHERE TO BUY

    To me this smartphone from Itel is a hit. The Itel IT1516 is a smartphone in its own class. Beautiful body and specs. Kudos itel.

  • KingAbsolute
    November 14, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    The itel IT1516 is a smartphone that will mark their redemption. People have been talking about it, especially the specs (battery, 4GLTE, etc.).

    Itel did a great work on it1516, a phone I’d love to have, own and cherish.

  • Egwuatu Mary
    November 14, 2016 at 1:30 pm

    My itel IT1516 review.
    I would recommend a friend for the phone because of its uniqueness, itel made a hit with this one. The battery alone gives me life, I can use it for long. Also the multi touch feature it has, not mentioning about the camera and sound effect. I am ready to recommend this phone to friends because its the best

  • Egwuatu Mary
    November 14, 2016 at 1:33 pm

    My itel IT1516 review.
    I would recommend a friend for the phone because of its uniqueness, itel made a hit with this one. The battery alone gives me life, I can use it for long. Also the multi touch feature it has, not mentioning about the camera and sound effect. I am ready to recommend this phone to friends because its the best
    #Powerfulsmartphone
    #gadgetsreviewing

  • ikan
    November 14, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    Not bad at all, I have a friend that uses this phone, he never complains of the battery like you stated, Its durable. The Only thing that might not catch the fancy of a bunch would be the Camera, not like it’s that bad but it’s okay, at least judging from the pictures he takes. Lol. Would I buy it? Yes, because I feel its more of a reliable phone than a few others which I wouldn’t mention. Many of us know we rarely see light for house sef and the least we need is a phone that drains battery. So yes shout out to ITEL

  • Shola Araoye
    November 14, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    My beautiful people the itel IT1516 is a great and strong phone. it’s comes with 5.0 inches screen which allows for more entertainment on the go.
    The battery capacity is 5000mAh. This means your talk time is unlimited plus watching a movie or music video or surfing the internet is unlimited as well.
    It has 5.0MP for the back camera and 2.0MP for the front camera. This will give room for perfect pictures and great selfie picture.
    Where to buy? Visit Konga to get yours immediately. #PowerfulSmartphone #GadgetsReviewNg

  • Adesope Quadri Ademola
    November 14, 2016 at 2:01 pm

    The Itel1516 is a good phone considering the kind of specifications it packs at the price level of 25,000 naira. It’s durability is also another factor to be considered when buying it. my dad is using and am telling you the battery is gallant. The phone comes with a free OTG adapter and a free phone casing. More so, the phone has a year warranty with all software problems to be handled by Carlcare.

  • Michael Effiong
    November 14, 2016 at 2:21 pm

    It’s a nice device by Itel Mobile, they are beginning to compete with the big boyz in the the Nigeria smartphone industry

  • Bright Meek Phronesis Odei
    November 14, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    ITEL IT1516 PLUS REVIEW, SPECIFICATION, PRICE AND WHERE TO BUY

    I was compelled to read this post again and oh mine!
    This itel it1516 is loaded with super ability. 😉
    I stand up and salute itel for this #powerfulsmartphone
    #gadgetsreviewing

  • Bright Meek Phronesis Odei
    November 14, 2016 at 3:11 pm

    Hello beautiful friends 🙂 Good day. I bring you good news from Itel’s lastest smartphone called the IT1516 PLUS.

    HERE ARE 4 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD BUY THE ITEL IT1516 PLUS SMARTPHONE

    1. The ITEL IT1516 comes with a RAM of 1GB memory. ROM (Internal) 8GB. External memory Micro – SD, expandable by 32GB. Now that’s more movies on your smartphone 😉
    Amazing right?

    2. OTG reverse charge. Now that’s swag!!! Simply put; you can use your ITEL IT1516 to charge other phones. Ooshéy!!!

    3. The ITEL IT1516 comes with a battery capacity of 5000 mAh li – lon. Stand – by 250 hrs. Talk time 8hrs. Did I hear you shout Jesus!!! LoL. Same here. Jesus!!!

    4. The ITEL IT1516 comes with a free OTG adapter and a free phone casing.

    The ITEL IT1516 cost just N25,000 only. Hurry now and get your ITEL IT1516. Visit Gadgets Review page for more info. Thanks.
    #powerfulsmartphone #gadgetsreviewing

  • Abiodun Ogunnika
    November 14, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    The itel 1516 Plus featured with the device is 5.0 Inch IPS display and It has an octa core processor with a frequency of 2.0Ghz, 8GB internal Storage and 1GB of RAM features the Storage Capacity.

  • Olakitan Seyi
    November 14, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    Wow! Wow! All I can just say is wow. Itel IT1516 just blew my mind. I recommend this phone for the following reasons.

    1. Considering the epileptic power situation in the country, having a phone with a capacity
    5000mah li-Ion with over 250hrs standby and talk time of 8hrs is just the bomb. Meaning I can enjoy this phone fully charge, go to work and back and still have it on till I put on my generator! This is really cool…wait a minute…if that is cool I think the fact that I can actually charge other phone with this ‘charger-phone’ is the coolest.
    2. Second reason why I urge Nigerians to go for this phone is the fact that it has 1GB and 8GB internal and external memory respective gives it more capacity to function without the constant issues most android phones have and with an expandable 32GB external memory Card, it’s fun time for file sharers!
    3. The display of this phone of 5.0inches display size coupled with IPS Capacitive Touch screen Resolution of 480 x 854 pixels means it is sleek and portable making mobility quiet interesting. Most times, it feels awkward moving about with big screen phones especially on official and corporate meetings, this phone with its body size is pure class.
    4. None out of the above mentioned reasons make this more desirable than the fact that it can be gotten for as low as 25k! OMG! In this current economic situation? Considering the features? Compared with other products with similar or lesser features? This is the real value for less.
    Oya o….make we go dey buy. #Powerfulsmartphone
    #gadgetsreviewing

  • Adewolu Dammy
    November 14, 2016 at 6:25 pm

    Itel it1516 plus is a phone designed with Nigerians in mind. It offers decent specs at such a reasonable price. The 5,000mAH battery is superb considering the epileptic power supply common to almost every part of Nigeria.

  • November 15, 2016 at 12:33 am

    Hi Friends, have you heard about Itel it1516, Do you want to know more about it? THESE ARE THE 4 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD BUY THE ITEL IT1516 PLUS POWERFUL Smartphone: 1) The Itel it1516 is the perfect choice for people who cannot seem to leave their phone for up to an hour, because it has the power of sharing its battery life to other device due to it’s massive 5000mAh battery., which can last for more than 36 hours of heavy usage on a single charge. 2) It has Specifications like a 5 inch HD screen, 1GB RAM, 8GB ROM and Android 5.1 Lollipop slapped on top which makes it a very nice device. 3)True colour display and Auto Focus that help Keeping Your Photos Crisp and Clear. 4) With the itel it1516 plus, you don’t need to carry along any power bank on the go, the fact is the device is a power bank on its own with its long battery life. In fact it’s a good phone and is very affordable from reliable product Itel Mobile. Please tell a Friend and you will not regret you did. You can order for the Itel It1516 Plus on KONGA or JUMIA. #powerfulsmartphone and #gadgetsreviewng

  • ADEBAYO ABDULGANIYU
    November 16, 2016 at 9:08 am

    Smartphones of different brands,quality and specifications are flooding the markets daily but the one I can boldly without hesitation recommends for everyone is itel1516 plus based on these four cogent reasons:
    1. BATTERY CAPACITY-This smartphone boast of 5000mah li-Ion powerful battery that allows heavy phone users to enjoy unlimited videos, music, games, streaming, contents and app downloads,chat with family and friends, surfing of Internet and lots more for days without charging or run out of power.With this enigma, you don’t need to carry charger or power bank around. The battery got you covered always.
    2. OTG REVERSE CHARGE TECHNOLOGY-This allow the phone to be use for charging others phone.Infact,It serves as a power bank to other phones and the good news is that it comes with free OTG adapter.
    3. DESIGN- The phone is sleek, stylish, smart and elegant. With 5.0 inches IPS Capacitive Touchscreen, 1GB RAM, 8GB ROM(internal memory), External memory-micro-SD expandable by 32GB, 3G network,WIFI, dual sim,Super fast processor, OS(5.1 Lollipop), 5MP(back camera) with flash and 2MP(front camera) that is better than 20MP of some smartphones as well as other
    cool functions that give this smartphone edge over it rivals. indeed, itel1516 plus is a reliable companion.
    4. PRICE-it1516 plus is cheaper and affordable compared to other smartphones of the same or less specifications and functions in the market.
    Without mincing words, itel1516 plus is a class on it’s own and built for those who love stylish,quality,beautiful, powerful and durable smartphone. #powerfulsmartphone #gadgetsreviewng

  • ADEBAYO ABDULGANIYU
    November 16, 2016 at 11:45 am

    FOUR REASONS TO BUY ITEL1516 PLUS
    Smartphones of different brands,quality and specifications are flooding the markets daily but the one I can boldly without hesitation recommends for everyone to buy is itel1516 plus based on these four cogent reasons:
    1. BATTERY CAPACITY-This smartphone boast of 5000mah li-Ion powerful battery that allows heavy phone users to enjoy unlimited videos, music, games, streaming, contents and app downloads,chat with family and friends, surfing of Internet and lots more for days without charging or run out of power.With this enigma, you don’t need to carry charger or power bank around,the battery got you covered always.
    2. OTG REVERSE CHARGE TECHNOLOGY-This allow the phone to be use for charging others phone.Infact,It serves as a power bank to other phones and the good news is that it comes with free OTG adapter.
    3. DESIGN- The phone is sleek, stylish, smart and elegant. With 5.0 inches IPS Capacitive Touchscreen, 1GB RAM, 8GB ROM(internal memory),External memory-micro-SD expandable by 32GB, 3G network,WIFI, dual sim,Super fast processor, OS(Android 5.1 Lollipop), 5MP(back camera) with flash and 2MP(front camera) that is better than 20MP camera of some smartphones as well as other cool functions that give this smartphone edge over it rivals. indeed, itel1516 plus is a reliable companion.
    4. PRICE-itel1516 plus is cheaper and affordable compared to other smartphones of the same or less specifications and functions in the market.
    Without mincing words, itel1516 plus is a class on it’s own and built for those who love stylish,quality,beautiful,powerful and durable smartphone. #powerfulsmartphone #gadgetsreviewng

  • SULAIMON BOLANLE IDAYAT
    November 20, 2016 at 11:26 pm

    Smartphones are numerous but i will like my followers,family and friends to buy itel1516 plus based on these four reasons:
    1.It is powerful and durable,it is suitable for heavy phone users because the battery can last for days without charging.
    2.It can be used to charge others phone.It is a power bank smartphone.
    3.It is sleek and elegant.
    4.It is cheaper compared to other smartphones of the same features. #powerfulsmartphone #gadgetsreviewng

Leave a Response